August 10, 2022
Partition Horrors Remembrance Day 2022: How these independent countries were separated from India

Partition Horrors Remembrance Day 2022: On Saturday 14 August 2021, Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced that 14 August would be observed as ‘Partition Horrible Remembrance Day’ in memory of “displaced sisters and brothers” during the partition of the country. will be celebrated in Expressing sentiments on his official Twitter account, a day before Indian Independence Day, PM Modi said that the pain of Partition can never be forgotten.

In a series of posts on the microblogging site, PM Modi said, the pain of Partition can never be forgotten. Lakhs of our sisters and brothers were displaced and many lost their lives due to ignorance and violence. In memory of the struggle and sacrifice of our people, August 14 will be observed as Partition Horror Remembrance Day. After this talk of Modi, the second remembrance day will fall on Sunday, 14 August.

Partition Horrible Remembrance Day

The Prime Minister had said that the Partition Horrific Remembrance Day will continue to remind us of the need to remove the poison of social division, animosity and to further strengthen the spirit of unity, social harmony and human empowerment.

When India gained independence in 1947, the event marked the partition and partition of the country into two major dominions – India and Pakistan. The Dominion of India is today the Republic of India (since 1950); Whereas the Dominion of Pakistan is known today as the Islamic Republic of Pakistan (since 1956) and the People’s Republic of Bangladesh (since 1971).

Partition Horrible Remembrance Day: Photo- Social Media

It is worth mentioning here that even before the transfer of power, the British had divided the Bengal province of British India into East Pakistan and the West Bengal state of India. Similarly, the Punjab province of British India was divided into the Punjab province of West Pakistan and the Punjab state of India.

Ceylon and Burma separated from India

Although Ceylon (now Sri Lanka) and Burma (now Myanmar), which were part of India during this period, were also separated, but it is not included in the partition of India. Similarly in 1971 another partition of Pakistan took place and Bangladesh was established. This too is not counted in this event of Partition. Let us tell you here that during this period Nepal and Bhutan were already independent states and were not affected by this partition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.