3 reasons why Virat Kohli had to leave the T20 captaincy


New Delhi: Team India’s captain Virat Kohli is not having a good time. Virat Kohli has decided to step down from the captaincy of T20 on the previous day. After the T20 World Cup in November this year, Kohli will step down from the captaincy of the T20 format. He had full support ahead of the Adelaide Test against Australia last year, but things changed when India were bundled out for 36 in that match and Kohli went on paternity leave. No one said openly, but when India played with its best team and it fell behind Australia, then the morale of the players was low. But the players were feeling more united. Let’s take a look at why Virat Kohli has finally left the captaincy of T20.

1. ICC World Test Championship Final

Virat Kohli decided to take the field with 2 spinners against New Zealand in the final match. That too when it rained heavily before the match in Southampton. At the same time, New Zealand’s team came on the field with 4 fast bowlers and a pacer all-rounder. This bet of Kohli backfired and Team India had to lose the WTC final. According to the news, BCCI was very upset with this decision of Virat Kohli.

2. The ICC trophy was not won under Kohli’s captaincy

The Indian team is constantly losing in important matches of ICC tournaments. Despite being a good team, Team India has not won any ICC trophy since 2013. In the past, there were also reports in the media that if Virat Kohli loses the T20 World Cup this time, then his captaincy can be lost. In such a situation, Virat Kohli himself would have thought it better to come forward and take this decision.

3. Virat Kohli’s batting was being affected

Captaining in all three formats is a difficult task. The pressure of captaincy can be clearly seen on Virat’s performance. No century has come from Virat’s bat for the last two years. In such a situation, Kohli would be looking to leave the pressure of captaincy and enjoy his game in T20 cricket.

Kohli’s captaincy record

Virat Kohli has captained India in 45 T20 International matches. Kohli has led Team India to victory in 27 T20 International matches under his captaincy. During this, India has lost 14 T20 International matches, while 2 T20 matches are tied and 2 T20 matches are inconclusive.

Kohli the first captain to do this feat

Virat Kohli has done that feat in his captaincy, which even a great captain like Dhoni could not do. Virat Kohli is the first Indian captain to win T20 series for Team India in SENA countries like South Africa, England, New Zealand and Australia. Virat Kohli led India to win T20 series in South Africa and England in 2018. After this, Team India won the T20 series in New Zealand and Australia in the year 2020 under the captaincy of Virat Kohli. Even great captains like Dhoni could never win India a T20 series in SENA countries simultaneously.


Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here