September 30, 2022
“Already Decided?”: Sunil Gavaskar Annoyed By ‘Herschle Will Get Hit In Australia’ Comment

While the Indian cricket team’s squad for the 2022 T20 World Cup appears to be a tried and tested one, there were a few lapses that left some experts clueless. Former Indian cricket team player and 1983 World Cup player Krishnamachari Srikkanth felt that Mohammed Shami should have been included in the main team instead of Harshal Patel. “If I were the chairman of the selection committee, (Mohammed) Shami would definitely be in the team. We’re playing in Australia, that guy’s got real action, that guy’s got bounce, he can spare the moment.” And he can pick up early wickets, so I would probably have got Shami instead of Harshal Patel,” Srikkanth said on Star Sports.

While Harshal has emerged as a very good pace substitute in T20s, Shami finished as the sixth-highest wicket-taker in IPL 2022 with 20 scalps.

in a discussion on till the game, a viewer asked former India captain Sunil Gavaskar to give his take on Harshal Patel. “Herschel Australia” i can kill (Herschl may be smooshed in Australia). He doesn’t have much pace and given the kind of pitches in Australia, batsmen can attack him,” the spectator asked.

Gavaskar did not take this question lightly.

,Going ahead, we will see how they can be beaten. You have already decided, father is there. Man, let there be a match. After the match, you can say ‘It happened, it happened’, (We’ll see that once the tournament starts. How can you decide in advance whether he’ll go for the runs? You jump to a conclusion because he bowls slower. At least let the matches go first. Then of course) From, you can say ‘this happened, that happened’),’ Gavaskar replied during the show on Sports Tak.


Indian team for ICC T20 World CupRohit Sharma (capt), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

standby player – Mohammed Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.