October 4, 2022
Pakistan recalls Sidra Nawaz, Sidra Amin for Women’s T20 Asia Cup

Opener Sidra Amin and wicketkeeper-batsman Sidra Nawaz have been called back in the Pakistan squad for the Women’s T20 Asia Cup, to be held in Sylhet next month. The 15-man squad also includes uncapped all-rounder Sadaf Shamas.
Pakistan has made three changes to the squad for last month’s Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, excluding Anam Amin, Gul Firoza and Iram Javed. Bismah Maroof continues to captain the team which has Nashra Sandhu, Natalia Parvez, Umme Hani and Waheeda Akhtar as standby players.
Amin last played T20Is in 2019 but has shown an impressive 50-over form this year. He was adjudged Player of the Series in Pakistan’s 2–1 win over Sri Lanka in June with scores of 76, 123 and 19 in three ODIs. She also scored a century against Bangladesh in the Women’s World Cup in Hamilton earlier this year. Amin was rewarded with a central contract for his stellar performances this year.

Asmawia Iqbal said, “Sidra Amin has been in good form lately. She did well in the warm-up matches and recently became the second woman batsman from Pakistan to score two ODI hundreds. Her presence at the top of the order will bring stability.” The national women selector was quoted by the PCB in a press release.

Nawaz, on the other hand, comes in as a backup to frontline wicketkeeper-batsman Muneeba Ali. The 28-year-old hasn’t played a single T20I this year but has been in the ODI scheme of things for Pakistan.

“We have also selected an additional keeper in Sidra Nawaz due to the long duration of the tournament. On these tracks, we need a specialist wicketkeeper for Muneeba Ali in case she becomes unavailable,” Iqbal said. Told.

Sadaf Shamas has done well in the recent warm-up matches and we think this is the right time to bring him into the national team.

The remaining side rests on a consistent line. The 15-player team and reserve team will take part in a ten-day camp in Lahore from September 18 to 27 before leaving for the tournament on September 28.

The Women’s T20 Asia Cup will run from October 1 to 16, with seven teams participating in the T20 tournament. The first leg of the tournament will be played in a round robin style with four teams qualifying for the semi-finals. India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Malaysia and UAE will take part in the tournament along with hosts Bangladesh.

The Asia Cup was last held in 2018 with Bangladesh winning the title in a last-ball thriller. India is the most successful team in the tournament having won the trophy six times.

Pakistan Squad: Bismah Maroof (capt), Aiman ​​Anwar, Alia Riaz, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali (wk), Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Wicketkeeper), Tuba Hassan

Reserve players: Nashra Sandhu, Natalia Parvez, Umme Hani, Waheeda Akhtar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.