October 4, 2022
Recent Match Report – Australia vs India 2nd T20I 2022

toss India chose to bowl vs. Australia

India gained a significant advantage by winning the toss and opted to chase in a seriously short T20 International in Nagpur. Adding to that sentiment is the return of Jasprit Bumrah, who will be playing his first game of cricket in two months.
Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who had suffered a slight drop in form recently, ended up with a casualty cut to only eight overs of the game. Rain deficient matches often skew in favor of the side with more batting and hence India strengthened their team with Rishabh Pant.
Australia went the other way, leaving batsman Josh Inglis in for a bowler Sean Abbott. They are leading 1-0 in the three-match series.
Nathan Ellis, who showed great performance in high-scoring conditions earlier this week, was also out of the squad, replaced by Daniel Sams, who offers a left-handed attack.

India’s Umesh Yadav, who broke a three-year drought between T20Is on Tuesday, has also been pushed to the bench.

An overnight rain in Nagpur had submerged the outfield and although the weather was completely clear on match day, the game had to be postponed for two and a half hours while the groundstaff tried to prepare things.

The major concern for umpires Nitin Menon and KN Ananthapadmanabhan was an area at wide mid-on, which gave way to the underfoot and created injury potential. Even when the officials finally decided to go ahead with the play at 8.50 pm, they did so by saying “although the conditions are not perfect, they are safe to play.”

According to the revised terms of the game, no bowler can bowl more than two overs, which will also be the length of the powerplay in each innings.

Australia: 1 Aaron Finch (c), 2 Cameron Green, 3 Steven Smith, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Tim David, 6 Matthew Wade (wk), 7 Pat Cummins, 8 Daniel Sams, 9 Sean Abbott, 10 Adam Zampa, 11 Josh Hazlewood

India: 1 Rohit Sharma (Captain), 2 KL Rahul, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Suryakumar Yadav, 5 Rishabh Pant (WK), 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Dinesh Karthik, 8 Axar Patel, 9 Harshal Patel, 10 Jasprit Bumrah, 11 Yuzvendra Chahal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.