August 12, 2022
Recent Match Report – South Africa vs Ireland 2nd T20I 2022

toss Ireland chose to bowl vs. South Africa

Andy Balbirnie has chosen to follow as Ireland equalize the series against South Africa. Some might call this a courageous decision after South Africa scored their highest score against Ireland at the same venue two days earlier, but Ireland fell short by just 21 runs and, after narrow defeats in the summer to India and New Zealand, Would like to prove them can beat the so called big team. George Dockrell, for one, will find the win doubly memorable, as he plays his 100th T20I.
Meanwhile, South Africa welcomed stand-in captain David Miller, who had missed the series opener with a lower back cramp. Miller replaces Tristan Stubbs, whose big-hitting earned him a hundred deals and who has shown enough to the selectors ahead of the T20 World Cup.

With this match taking place on the same pitch, South Africa did not make any other changes to their winning combination from Wednesday. Wayne Parnell and Dwayne Pretorius both booked their places ahead of Andile Phehlukwayo. Marco Jensen and Enrique Nortje are also on edge. Keshav Maharaj, who took the lead in the first match, and Tabrez Shamsi are the specialist spin components, with Aiden Markram as the sixth bowling option. There was no place for Marco Jensen or Enrique Nortje. Ireland are unchanged from their losing XI to South Africa on Wednesday.

This is South Africa’s last T20I before they will need to finalize their World Cup squad, which will travel to India for the three-match series in September. Ireland will host Afghanistan for a five-match series later this month which will help them improve their combination.

Ireland: 1 Paul Stirling, 2 Andy Balbirnie (c), 3 Lorcan Tucker, (c) 4 Harry Tector, 5 George Dockrell, 6 Curtis Camper, 7 Gareth Delany, 8 Andrew McBrine, 9 Mark Adair, 10 Barry McCarthy, 11 Josh Little

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Reeza Hendrix, 3 Rassi van der Dussen 4 Aiden Markram 5 Henrik Klaasen, 6 David Miller (c), 7 Wayne Parnell, 8 Dwayne Pretorius, 9 Keshav Maharaj, 10 Lungi Ngidi, 11 Tabrez Shamsi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.