August 13, 2022
Recent Match Report – Zimbabwe vs Bangladesh 3rd T20I 2022

toss Zimbabwe chose to bat vs. Bangladesh

Zimbabwe captain Craig Ervine won the third straight toss and elected to bat against Bangladesh in Harare. Bangladesh made three changes: Mahmudullah guessed for Nurul Hasan, while Shorful Islam and Munim Shahriar were replaced by Nasum Ahmed and debutant Parvez Hossain Amon.

For the hosts, Wellington Masakadza, Richard Ngarwa and Tanaka Chiwanga made way for pacers Victor Nyuchi and Brad Evans and legspinner John Massara was making his T20I debut.

The spectators have put on a stellar performance for 48 hours till this game. He previously lost his captain Nurul Hasan to a finger injury after the team physio confirmed that he would be out for three weeks. Twenty-four hours before the game, the BCB named Mosaddek Hossain as captain, which surprised many as the initial idea was that Liton Das, a more established member of the side, would lead the team in Nurul’s absence.

It was a big surprise for Mahmudullah to be named as Nurul’s replacement in the T20I squad, as he was “rested” from the T20I side along with other senior players like Mushfiqur Rahim and Shakib Al Hasan. Mahmudullah, who was already in Harare as part of the ODI squad, returned to the T20I squad.

Debutant Emon is an aggressive left-handed opener who was a part of Bangladesh Under-19 World Cup victory in 2020. He later scored the country’s fastest T20 century during the Bangabandhu Cup later in the same year.

Zimbabwe: 1 Regis Chakbawa (wk), 2 Craig Ervine (c), 3 Wesley Madhevere, 4 Sean Williams, 5 Sikandar Raza, 6 Milton Shumba, 7 Ryan Burle, 8 Luke Jongwe, 9 John Massara, 10 Victor Nyuchi, 11 Brad Evans

Bangladesh1 Liton Das (wk), 2 Parvez Hossain Emon, 3 Anamul Haque, 4 Mahmudullah, 5 Najmul Hossain Shanto, 6 Afif Hossain, 7 Mosaddek Hossain (captain), 8 Mahedi Hasan, 9 Hasan Mahmood, 10 Mustafizur Rahman, 11 Nasum Ahmed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.