October 3, 2022
Sanju Samson will lead the mighty India A – Along with Prithvi Shaw, Umran Malik, Ruturaj Gaikwad

Sanju Samson has been named captain of the 16-man India A team, which will play New Zealand A in a three-match ODI series in Chennai from September 22 to 27. This is a team with an international experience. Others including Kuldeep Yadav, Prithvi Shaw, Shardul Thakur and Navdeep Saini are also in the mix.
Raj Bawa, one of India’s brightest stars in their victorious Youth World Cup campaign earlier this year, has also found a place in the squad. The 19-year-old seam-bowling all-rounder was adjudged player of the match for 5 for 31 in the final against England and is currently making his senior team debut. He has so far played two Ranji Trophy matches for Chandigarh and two IPL matches for Punjab Kings. A spot in India’s A team in international matches represents a big step forward for him.
Samson was last in action for the national team during their ODI series in Zimbabwe in late August, and there were five others from that touring party for company in India A: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Kuldeep, Shahbaz Ahmed, Thakur and Rahul Tripathi. .
Among others in the line-up, Shaw, Rahul Chahar and Umran Malik have all played in one or more formats for their country, while Srikar Bharat, Abhimanyu Easwaran and Rajat Patidar are on the field, for Bharat and Easwaran Lal. More in ball cricket, and Patidar as a short-format batsman. Fast bowler Kuldeep Sen was also a net bowler with the national team on the recent Asia Cup tour.

For a group of these players, the call-up in the ODI squad meant the transition from red-ball to white-ball cricket: Bharat, Chahar, Abhimanyu, Gaekwad, Kuldeep, Patidar, Tilak Verma and Malik are all involved. squad for the ongoing four-day series.

Bad weather, coupled with poor lighting conditions, affected both the completed matches of that series, most notably the second in Hubballi, where only 78.5 overs of play was possible in four days.
Patidar, Abhimanyu, Gaikwad and Verma have shown good form with the bat in whoever is playing. Patidar scored 176 in his only innings of the first game, when Abhimanyu made 132 and Verma made 121. Meanwhile, Gaikwad scored 108 runs in the Indian first innings in the ongoing third four-day match.
On the bowling front, pacer, Mukesh Kumar has outclassed well-known names, his 5 for 86 in the first game, the best individual bowling effort of the series so far.

India A ODI Team: Sanju Samson (c, wk), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, KS Bharat (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Shabaz Ahmed, Rahul Chahar, Tilak Verma, Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik. Navdeep Saini, Raj Bav

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.