October 5, 2022
T20 World Cup 2022 – UAE Team

UAE has dropped former captain Rohan Mustafa from the T20 World Cup squad. The team will be led by CP Rizwan, who was named as the T20I captain of the UAE only last month. Ironically, Mustafa scored the winning run for the United Arab Emirates against Ireland in the final of the qualifying tournament for the World Cup.

Mustafa’s ouster means he cannot achieve his goal of becoming the first player from his country to play three World Cups, before the T20 World Cup in 2014 and the ODI World Cup in Australia and New Zealand combined the following year. represented the Arab Emirates. His last appearance for the UAE was a few weeks back, when he was playing Kuwait in the T20 Asia Cup Qualifier.

“It was a dream for me, because it would have meant that I would have become the first UAE player to play in three World Cups,” Mustafa was quoted as saying by The National News.

“It will be a sad moment for me, and I think they are going to miss me a little bit. I felt like I was doing well in T20Is, and was No. 8.” [in ICC’s allrounder rankings in T20Is] Before I stop looking at these things. I will miss him – and I am sure he will miss me too – but I will definitely sit back and watch his matches and pray for him to win.”

Vritya will be Arvind Rizwan’s deputy for the World Cup, where UAE will compete in the first round, which will be fair to the tournament. Arvind was leading run-scorer In the qualifiers held in February this year, he scored 267 runs at an average of 89 and a strike rate of 154.
“This team has the experience and solid representation of the youth,” said Robin Singh, director of cricket and head coach of the national team. “It is a matter of great pride to represent our country, and our [coaching] The team has full faith in the maturity and skills of this group of players, and we expect them to surprise some teams with their performances.”

The UAE are placed in Group A of the first round along with Sri Lanka, the Netherlands and Namibia, from where the top two teams – along with the best two from Group B – will advance to the main round. They will play their first match against the Netherlands in Geelong on 16 October, the first day of the event.

United Arab Emirates squadCP Rizwan (Captain), Vritya Aravind (Vice-Captain), Chirag Suri, Muhammad Wasim, Basil Hameed, Aryan Lakra, Jawar Farid, Kashif Dawood, Karthik Meiyappan, Ahmed Raza, Zahoor Khan, Junaid Siddiqui, Sabir Ali, Alishan Sharafu and Ayan Khan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.