October 4, 2022
Formula One adds Las Vegas 2023 calendar extended to 24 races

Formula One tentatively added the first race in Las Vegas to the 2023 schedule announced Tuesday, recording a total of 24. The season will begin in Bahrain on 5 March and end in Abu Dhabi, more than nine months later on 26 November. Las Vegas will be the final round as F1 quickly adds a third race in the United States after Miami joins this season’s schedule. The Las Vegas race is subject to “homologation” or official approval of the circuit by the motor sports governing body FIA.

The Chinese Grand Prix, last ran in 2019, returns as the Qatar Grand Prix in Losel, which made its debut in 2021, but is not being raced this year.

The French Grand Prix, first ran in 1906, has been made the oldest Grand Prix ever. It was previously removed between 2009 and 2017 before being returned to Le Castellet.

The Sochi Grand Prix, which was scratched this year after the Russian invasion of Ukraine, does not return.

Two races considered in danger – Belgium and Monaco – have been retained.

“There is an unprecedented demand to host races in Formula 1 and it is important that we find a balance for the sport as a whole,” said Formula One president Stefano Domenicali.

The global distribution of races continues to change. There are nine in Europe, eight in Asia, four in North America, and one each in South America and Australia.

“The presence of 24 races on the 2023 FIA Formula One World Championship calendar is further evidence of the sport’s growth and appeal on a global scale,” said Mohamed Ben Sulayem, FIA President.

Schedule for the 2022 Formula One season:

March 5: Bahrain, Sakhiro

March 19: Saudi Arabia, Jeddah

April 2: Australia, Melbourne

April 16: China, Shanghai

April 30: Azerbaijan, Baku

May 7: Miami, Miami

May 21: Emilia Romagna, Imola

May 28: Monaco, Monaco

June 4: Spain, Barcelona

June 18: Canada, Montreal

July 2: Austria, Spielberg

July 9: United Kingdom, Silverstone

23 July: Hungary, Budapesto

July 30: Belgium, Spa

August 27: Zandvoorto, Netherlands

September 3: Italy, Monza

September 17: Singapore, Singapore

September 24: Japan, Suzuka

October 8: Qatar, Losail

October 22: United States, Austin

October 29: Mexico, Mexico City

November 5: Brazil, Sao Paulo

November 18: Las Vegas, Las Vegas*

26 November: Abu Dhabi, Yas Marina


*Subject to course approval

(This story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.