October 4, 2022
IND vs AUS: Mohammed Shami ruled out of T20I series after COVID-19 positive test, Umesh Yadav named replacement

India pacer Mohammed Shami has been ruled out of the upcoming three-match T20I series against Australia after testing positive for COVID-19, the BCCI confirmed in an official media release on Sunday. Umesh Yadav has been included in the team in his place. Shami was originally named in the squad for the T20I series against Australia and South Africa.

“Paceman Mohammed Shami will miss the upcoming three-day Mastercard T20I series against Australia,” an official release said.

“The All India Senior Selection Committee has nominated Umesh Yadav in his place,” he said.

The board also confirmed that fast bowler Navdeep Saini has been ruled out of the India A ODI series against New Zealand A due to a groin injury.

Navdeep Saini suffered a right groin injury on the first day of the Duleep Trophy semi-final match between North Zone and South Zone. He has also been ruled out of the ongoing tournament and the upcoming three-match ODI series between India A and India A. New Zealand A. Saini will now head the NCA for further management of his injury,” the release said.

The All India Senior Selection Committee has named Rishi Dhawan in place of Saini in the India A squad.

Indian squad for Australia series: Rohit Sharma (capt), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R.K. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav.


India A squad: Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, Sanju Samson (c), KS Bharat (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Shabaz Ahmed, Rahul Chahar, Tilak Verma, Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Rishi Dhawan, Raj Angad Bawa.

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.