Melbourne: Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar has questioned the umpires’ call clause in DRS.
Smith (Steve Smith) bowled round the leg on the third day off Bumrah. Smith tried to play the ball coming towards the hip towards the off-stump, but the ball took the stumps from his hip. If this ball was hit on their pads and LBW was appealed and the umpire thought it was not out, then he might not have been given out. Here umpires call would be used in DRS.
IND vs AUS: Why didn’t Pujara get Tim Paine out! Raging matthew wade
Sunil Gavaskar told Smith’s bold meaningless
Gavaskar (Sunil Gavaskar) told ABC Sport, ‘I think the way Smith got out shows that even if the ball hits the stumps, it has so much speed that it can blow the gills. If you are appealing to LBW and the ball hits the upper part of the stumps. So the speed of the spinner’s ball is so high that the gills can fly.
The ‘umpires call’ clause comes in ball tracking technology when the matter is very close and the decision is upheld by the on-field umpire.
He said, ‘If it is given out every time, then we will see the match end quickly’.
Sachin Tendulkar’s demand from ICC
Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar (Sachin Tendulkar) The ICC has demanded a complete review of Umpire’s call in DRS.
Ricky Ponting rages on Australian team, batsmen badly beaten
The only good thing for the bowling team is that it does not lose its review. Sachin Tendulkar tweeted, ‘Players take a review because they are unhappy with the on-field umpire’s decision. The ICC needs to conduct a thorough review of the DRS system, especially Umpire’s Call.