IND vs SL: Shikhar Dhawan becomes captain of Team India for Sri Lanka tour, took heart touching message


New Delhi: A 20-member Indian team has been announced for the limited overs series against Sri Lanka to be held in July this year. Shikhar Dhawan has been given the captaincy for this tour. On being given this responsibility, Dhawan has said that it is an honor for him to be given this opportunity.

The Indian team will play three ODIs and as many T20 matches on the Sri Lanka tour from July 13, which will be played in Colombo.

Shikhar Dhawan gave this reaction on becoming captain

Shikhar Dhawan tweeted, ‘I am honored to be given the opportunity to lead the country. Thank you for all your well wishes’.

Let us tell you that Shikhar Dhawan has played 34 Tests, 145 ODIs and 65 T20 matches for India. Under the leadership of captain Virat Kohli, the Indian Test team will play a five-match Test series against England in August-September, so Dhawan has been made the captain for the Sri Lanka tour. Apart from Dhawan, team’s fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been made the vice-captain.

Team India announced for Sri Lanka tour

The first ODI between India and Sri Lanka will be played on July 13, while the second and third ODIs will be played on July 16 and 18 respectively. The ODI series will be followed by three T20 matches on July 21, 23 and 25. All matches will be played at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo.

Chetan Sakaria, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Krishnappa Gautam and Nitish Rana have been included in the Indian team for the first time in the team for this tour.

The Indian squad for the Sri Lanka tour is as follows: Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K. Gautam, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakraborty, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini and Chetan Sakaria.
Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore and Simranjit Singh.


Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here