IND vs SL: Sri Lanka team scared of India in absence of seniors! Captain Dasun Shanaka gave a big statement


Colombo: The ODI series between India and Sri Lanka is going to start from July 18. Just a day before the first ODI to be held at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, the first Sri Lankan captain Dasun Shanaka has made an important statement.

‘Challenge to play against India’

Sri Lanka’s new ODI captain Dashun Shanaka said that playing the series against Team India without senior players will be a big challenge. All-rounder Shanaka has been given the command after Kusal Perera was ruled out due to a shoulder injury last week.

Many Sri Lankan senior players out

Sri Lanka Cricket is going through one of the toughest phases in history as it has to face the current strong Indian team without some big names. Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal and Dimuth Karunaratne are prominent among these players.

punish these players

Sri Lanka Cricket has also suspended three top-order batsmen Kushal Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella and Dhanushka Gunathilaka for violating the Bio Bubble in England during their last series.

Both teams will miss the seniors

Experienced players in the current team include Avishka Fernando, Dhananjay de Silva and Isiru Udana. However, Shanaka said that both the teams will start equally as both are missing the seniors as some Indian players are also in England.

‘No control over victory’

Dashun Shanaka said, we know that some Indian players who have come to Sri Lanka have played in IPL, but not in international cricket. So both the teams will also have chances. Shanaka, however, said that although he has no control over the win, he is confident that his team can put up a good fight.

‘Good experience’

Shanaka also told the media that the team can get a good experience from playing against India, one of the top teams in the world. He said, ‘It would be great to play against India at this level because we can calculate exactly where we are.

Sri Lanka full team

Sri Lanka team includes Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dhananjaya de Silva, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapakse, Pathum Nisanka, Charit Aslanka, Vanindu Hasaranga, Ashen Bandara, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Udara, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chamira, Lakshya Sandakan, Akila Dhananjaya, Shiran Fernando, Dhananjay Lakshan, Ishaan Jayaratne, Praveen Jayavikrema, Asitha Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana, Binura Fernando (T20 only) are included.


Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here