IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians’ journey so far in the tournament

new Delhi: During the IPL 2020, the crown of the defending IPL franchise team Mumbai Indians is at stake. Mumbai Indians is the only team to have won the IPL title 4 times at most. In such a situation, MI will have the opportunity to become the champion for the 5th time during this IPL. There will also be a challenge to save your winning title. Meanwhile, we are going to tell you how Mumbai Indians have performed in every edition during the 12 seasons of IPL played till now. The Mumbai team is going to start their journey in IPL 13 against the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the inaugural match to be held today.

Know the journey of Mumbai Indians in IPL so far
The Indian Premier League (IPL) was started in the year 2008. At that time the Mumbai Indians team was considered to be one of the strongest team, because former India legend Sachin Tendulkar (Sachin Tendulkar), former Sri Lankan left-handed explosive batsman Sanath Jayasuriya and South African great fast bowler Shaun were included in the team. Cricket majors like Pollack were involved. However, in the IPL 2008 (IPL 2008), MI’s team could not leave any special effect and that year Team 5 was at the fifth position.

The series of poor performances of Mumbai Indians continued during IPL 2009 and MI was ranked 7th in IPL 2 played in South Africa. But the story changed in 2010. Mumbai’s team managed to reach the IPL final for the first time on the strength of the then captain of the team Sachin Tendulkar, but the team lost to Chennai Super Kings in the title match. In 2011, Mumbai Indians bought India’s opener Rohit Sharma in the team for 4.8 crores. But in this IPL, Mumbai Indians had to be satisfied by staying at the third point. In the IPL season 5 (IPL 5), Mumbai’s team also managed to reach the playoffs and finished third in the points table.

When MI became IPL champion for the first time
For the last 3 IPL seasons, Mumbai Indians (MI) team was able to make a place in the IPL playoff matches continuously. But the team was creating difficulty in getting the IPL title. Then in the IPL 2013 (IPL 2013), Mumbai Indians handed over the command of Rohit Sharma as the captain of the team. What was there then, the magic of Rohit’s captaincy in IPL 6 so much that Mumbai Indians had registered the achievement of becoming the IPL champions for the first time this season.

Mumbai Indians won 3 IPL titles from 2014-2019
Mumbai Indians have won 3 titles from the 2014 IPL to the last IPL season 12 (IPL 12). During this period, if we look at MI’s performance year after year, Mumbai Indians lost their IPL crown in the year 2014 and the team stood at number four that season. But in 2015, Mumbai Indians once again regained the crown of IPL winner. However during the IPL 9, in the year 2016, MI was the 5th ranked team of the tournament.

At the same time, in the year 2017, Mumbai Indians again choked and succeeded in becoming the IPL champion for the third time. Meanwhile, during the IPL 11 (IPL 11) in 2018, Mumbai Indians had to be satisfied with the number five team. Apart from this, the platoon of Mumbai Indians in IPL 12 told everyone why they are the most successful team of this league and MI team created history by making IPL title for the fourth time in the last IPL.


Recent Articles

Will Sourav Ganguly advocate for relaxed Rohit and Ishant’s quarantine rules?

new Delhi: When Indian cricketers arrived in Australia from UAE, Rohit Sharma and Ishant Sharma were not included in this group. After reaching...

IND VS AUS: In the first ODI, these players can get a chance in playing XI

Sydney: The infighting between India and Australia (IND VS AUS) will start from today. The first match of the three-match ODI series will...

Flipkart Black Friday sale starts, best deals and offers on these smartphones

Flipkart Black Friday Sale has started and it has brought good discounts on smartphones of many other brands including Xiaomi, Realme, Oppo, Samsung smartphones....

People on social media created ruckus, paid tribute to singer Madonna in place of Maradona

new Delhi: Argentine veteran footballer Diego Maradona (Diego Armando Maradona) died at the age of 60. The sports world has been plunged into...

India and Australia team will descend on black band in honor of Dean Jones

Sydney: The ODI series between India and Australia (IND vs AUS) is to begin on November 27 at the Sydney ground. Before the...

Related Stories

[vc_column tdc_css=”