Moin Khan’s son Azam Khan entered the Pakistan team only after playing only 1 first class match.


Karachi: Pakistan has included former captain Moin Khan’s son and new player Azam Khan in the T20 squad selected for the tour of England and West Indies. Along with this, the selectors have also included Imad Wasim in the squad for three T20 Internationals in England and five T20 Internationals in West Indies besides Haris Sohail for three ODIs in England.

azam khan in pakistan t20 team

Azam Khan’s name in the T20 team is shocking because he has played only one first-class match so far. Although he has played 36 T20 matches and his image is that of a batsman who hits big shots. He has played in Pakistan Super League and Sri Lanka Premier League.

Fast bowlers Mohammad Abbas and Naseem Shah have also returned to the squad for the two-match Test series against West Indies in Jamaica. Abbas and Naseem were ignored in the recent two Test matches played in Zimbabwe.

The selectors have also named veteran leg-spinner Yasir Shah in the two-Test squad but his final selection will be based on passing the fitness test. He was also overlooked for the Zimbabwe tour due to a knee injury.

The Pakistan team will play a series of three ODIs and as many T20 matches on the England tour from July 8 to 20.


Test: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain, wicketkeeper), Abdullah Shafiq, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imran Butt, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Yasir Shah (depending on fitness), Zahid Mahmood.

ODI team: Babar Azam (capt), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafiq, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan ( Wicketkeeper), Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (WK), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir.

T20 International Team: Babar Azam (capt), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Arshad Iqbal, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jr., Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sharjeel Khan, Usman Qadir.


Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here