December 10, 2022
Shimron Hetmyer dropped from West Indies squad for T20 World Cup after flight misses

Cricket West Indies (CWI) has announced Shamar Brooks as the replacement for explosive middle-order batsman Shimron Hetmyer in the squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022. “Cricket West Indies (CWI) has today informed the International Cricket Council (ICC) that Shamar Brooks has replaced Shimron Hetmyer in the West Indies squad for the ICC T20 World Cup to be held in Australia,” CWI said in a statement. “

The decision was taken by the CWI selection panel after Shimron Hetmyer missed his rescheduled flight to Australia, which was changed from Saturday, 1 October at his request due to family reasons. With flight availability a real challenge, it found a seat for him to leave Guyana today, Monday, 3 October, which means he will unfortunately miss the first T20 International against Australia at the Metricon Stadium on Wednesday, 5 October. (T20I) will not play.

This morning, Hetmyer informed Director of Cricket Jimmy Adams that he would not be able to arrive at the airport in time for his flight to New York this afternoon.

“This afternoon we informed the CWI Board of Directors that the selection panel had unanimously decided to replace Shimron Hetmyer with Shamrah Brooks in our T20 World Cup squad. While we have postponed Shimron’s flight from Saturday to Monday due to family reasons He said that if there were any further delays and problems with his trip to Australia, we would have no choice but to replace him in the squad, as we prepare for this very important global event. Adams is not ready to compromise on the ability of the team.

“Shamrah has been a part of our recent T20I squad and has been a strong performer in the later stages of the recently concluded CPL. He will be flying to Australia as soon as possible this week and I wish him and all the team all the best. for the tournament,” he said.


West Indies will start their T20 World Cup campaign against Scotland from October 17. They are part of Group B along with Scotland, Zimbabwe and Ireland. Last year, Windies were knocked out of the tournament in the Super 12 stage.

West Indies: Nicholas Pooran (capt), Rovman Powell, Yannick Caria, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder, Akil Hossein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Kyle Meyers, Obed McCoy, Ramon Reifer, Odeon Smith, Shamrah Brooks.

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *