T20 WC: Title battle in Australia and New Zealand, know which team wins the first title


New Delhi: Aussies will be desperate to win the maiden T20 World Cup trophy by winning the final against rival New Zealand here on Sunday with a spirited performance by their players. Considering the manner in which both Australia and New Zealand won their semi-final matches, another dramatic match can be expected in ‘Ring of Fire’.

Both the teams have not won the title yet

Australia has won a record five World Cup titles in 50-over cricket but interestingly, they are yet to win the T20 World Cup trophy. On the other hand, New Zealand has always been a consistent performer in ICC events and now it seems that they have the confidence to move forward under the able leadership of Kane Williamson. This will be their first T20 World Cup final and if they win it, it will be a great achievement for the country from which world-class players continue to emerge.

Both teams have strength

As far as the T20 clash between the two teams is concerned, Australia has always dominated New Zealand. But New Zealand won their only World Cup match at the 2016 edition in India. The last match of the World Cup final between the two teams was in 2015 in the 50-over format, which was won by Australia, who have not won an ICC tournament since then. Fans of both the teams will have to stay awake till night to watch this match on their TV sets as it will start after midnight in both the countries.

New Zealand showed amazing

New Zealand have been the best bowling team in the group stage, showing their batting prowess against the strong contenders ahead of the tournament in the semi-finals. Martin Guptill has a very good record in T20Is against Australia and his opening partner Daryl Mitchell will also play in the final after playing the best innings of his career. However, a big innings is awaited from captain Kane Williamson and he is expected to do well on the occasion on Sunday.

Jimmy Neesham proved his worth in the middle order against England but New Zealand will miss Devon Conway, who in the disappointment of being dismissed in the semi-finals, injured his hand due to a bat-toss, will be replaced by Tim Seifert. The experienced pace duo of Tim Southee and Trent Boult is expected to keep the reins on Australian opening batsmen Aaron Finch and David Warner in the powerplay. Adam Milne has also done a good job as the third pacer while leg-spinner Ish Sodhi has been impressive in the middle overs.

Australia’s spirits strong

Finch was blown away by a quick inswinger from Pakistan’s Shaheen Shah Afridi in the semi-finals but would like to add to his 251 runs against New Zealand. He has the most runs in T20 against New Zealand among Australian batsmen. In the last two innings, Warner has shown that form is temporary and ‘class’ is permanent and is fully expected to show his bat in the final. On the other hand, better performances will be expected from Glenn Maxwell and Steve Smith, who have not been able to make a big impact in the tournament so far. Marcus Stoinis and Matthew Wade chased down the target with a thumping win against Pakistan, making the Aussies look all set for a better result.


Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here