These Indian women cricketers raised the prestige of the country, achieved this special position


Mackay: Defending champion Sydney Thunder has included two Indian superstars – opener Smriti Mandhana and all-rounder Deepti Sharma – in their squad for the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) tournament starting October. This will be Mandhana’s third Big Bash team to score her best score of the year in the second ODI against Australia. She has previously represented Brisbane Heat and Hobart Hurricanes.

Deepti to debut in WBBL

Deepti has never participated in Big Bash before. Although he has a lot of experience of playing T20 cricket. She was also a part of the first season of ‘The Hundred’ this year where she took 10 wickets while bowling at an economy of 5.26. Along with this, she was also a part of the Western Storm team, which won the Super League in England in 2019 along with Mandhana.

Both these players have been included in the team as replacements for England captain Heather Knight and opener Tammy Beaumont. Despite the cancellation of the England women’s team’s tour of Pakistan, both the players were not available for this tournament.

Big achievement of women players

Apart from Mandhana and Deepti, Shefali Verma and Radha Yadav will also be seen playing in this league. Verma’s father Sanjeev told ESPNcricinfo in May that Verma had signed a deal with the Sydney Sixers.

25-year-old Mandhana told that she is excited to play in this tournament once again. He said, ‘Playing in foreign leagues gives you the experience of T20 cricket. You also get the opportunity to spend time with players from all over the world and learn from them.

very happy Deepti

Deepti is also very happy about this opportunity. She said, ‘I had received many offers to play in this tournament earlier also but due to the ongoing international series at that time, I could not play. It is a big deal for Indian women’s cricket that we are getting a chance to play in women’s BBL.

Let us inform that the new season of WBBL will start from October 14 after the end of the ongoing multi-format series between India and Australia. The first 20 matches of this season will be played in Tasmania.


Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here