These players including Neeraj will get reward of good performance, will get Khel Ratna award


New DelhiThe names of the players who have performed brilliantly for India in the Tokyo Olympic and Paralympic Games have been recommended for the Khel Ratna Award. The selection committee has also nominated 35 players for the Arjuna Award. These players have been rewarded for their good performance.

These players will get Khel Ratna

23-year-old Chopra is the only other Indian to win an individual Olympic gold medal, besides silver medalist wrestler Ravi Dahiya and bronze medalist female boxer Lovlina Borgohain, veteran hockey goalkeeper PR Sreejesh, women’s Test cricket team captain Mithali Raj, and veteran footballers. Sunil Chhetri’s name was also recommended for the country’s highest sports honor, Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna. Chhetri will become the first footballer of the country to be selected for this.

Awards to players who won medals in Paralympics

All the gold medal winners at the Tokyo Paralympics, shooters Avani Lekhara and Manish Narwal, javelin thrower Sumit Antil and badminton players Pramod Bhagat and Krishna Nagar have also been rewarded for their performance. All these have got a place in the list of Khel Ratna Awards which will be sent to the Sports Ministry for approval.

India won the most medals in Tokyo Olympics 2020

India had sent its largest contingent to the Tokyo Olympics so far. In these games, 121 players had challenged India’s performance and the country had won seven medals including one gold, two silver and four bronze medals. Arjuna Award will also be given to all members of the Indian men’s hockey team that won the historic bronze medal at the Olympics, provided they have not received the award earlier. The Khel Ratna Award carries a prize money of Rs 25 lakh and a citation while the Arjuna Awardees get a prize money of Rs 15 lakh and a citation.

Recently the name of the award has changed

Khel Ratna is the biggest sports award in the country. Earlier it was named after the former Prime Minister of India, Rajiv Gandhi. The Narendra Modi government recently changed its name to Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award. Major Dhyan Chand was known as the magician of hockey.

These 11 names for Khel Ratna Award.

1. Neeraj Chopra (Athletics)
2. Ravi Dahiya (Wrestling)
3. PR. Sreejesh (Hockey)
4. Lovlina Borgohain (Boxing)
5. Sunil Chhetri (Football)
6. Mithali Raj (Cricket)
7. Pramod Bhagat (Badminton)
8. Sumit Antil (Athletics)
9. Avani Lekhara (Shooting)
10. Krishna Nagar (Badminton)
11. Manish Narwal (Shooting)


Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here