This former cricketer kept the demand, ‘IND vs AUS Women’s Series on the lines of Border-Gavaskar Trophy’


Sydney: Former Australian cricketer Mel Jones said that for the series between India and Australia (IND vs AUS) women’s cricket teams, there should be a permanent trophy in the name of the previous female cricketers, such as the men’s series There is Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

‘Separate trophy needed’

Mel Jones, a member of the ICC Women’s Committee, said, “It is definitely great to have something like the Border-Gavaskar trophy, but what has happened in the past is for men.” So we should do it in our own way for women’s sports, and maybe we can do something different. We need a separate trophy for the women’s series, which should be named on former women players.

Also read- Yuvraj’s complete list of ex-girlfriends, affairs with these Bollywood celebrities

The first test was held in Perth

The women of India and Australia played their first Test in 1977 in Perth in which the hosts won by 147 runs. In the next 44 years, the teams have played 8 more Tests. Overall, Australians and Indians have played 9 Tests, with Australia leading 4–0. 5 matches ended in a draw.

Both teams will collide this year

The Indian women’s cricket team will play the only Test match against Australia in Perth in September-October. This will be the first day-night test match between the two teams. Mel Jones feels that there is a need to accept the history of cricket between the two countries.


Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here