Virat Kohli’s captaincy can go in ODI as well? BCCI gave this big update


New Delhi: After being out of the tournament after losing badly in the group matches of the T20 World Cup, there have been big changes in Team India. Rohit Sharma has been made the new captain of T20 in place of Virat Kohli. Virat Kohli left the captaincy of the Indian cricket team in the T20 format after the T20 World Cup. According to reports, BCCI can take a decision soon on the future of Virat Kohli’s ODI captaincy. It is understood that BCCI wants only one captain for T20 and ODI formats before the 50-over World Cup to be held in 2023. In such a situation, a big decision can be taken on the future of Kohli’s ODI captaincy in the coming days.

BCCI gave this big update regarding ODI captain

However, a senior Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) official told PTI, “I am not sure that BCCI will not retain Virat as the ODI captain.” It has been discussed that the possibility of this is very less. He will definitely continue to be the Test captain. The BCCI did not say anything about the captain of the ODI team, but it is understood that the board wants only one captain of the limited overs (T20 and ODI format) team before the 50-over World Cup to be held in 2023 and the right time comes. But a decision will be taken regarding the three-match ODI series against South Africa.

Lokesh Rahul is also being prepared

Rohit Sharma’s appointment as T20 captain was a mere formality, while Lokesh Rahul will be the vice-captain. A senior BCCI official said, “When Rohit Sharma is available, there is no other option at this time to captain the white ball. Yes, Lokesh Rahul is present, but for the time being his name will be considered as the vice-captain. Of course when Rohit takes a break, Rahul will lead Team India.

From November 17, Team India will play a three-match T20 series against New Zealand in their own home. Apart from Virat Kohli, senior players like Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have been rested in this series. Rituraj Gaikwad, the highest run-scorer in IPL 2021, and Harshal Patel, the highest wicket-taker, have also been included in India’s 16-member team. All-rounder Venkatesh Iyer, who is seen as a possible replacement for the injured Hardik Pandya, has also found a place in the team.

The career of this player of Team India ended?

After the poor performance in the T20 World Cup, the selectors have dropped Hardik Pandya’s team from India. Troubled by Hardik Pandya, the selectors have taken this big decision. By ousting Hardik Pandya from Team India, the selectors have given a chance to the explosive all-rounder Venkatesh Iyer, who rocked the IPL 2021. Venkatesh Iyer was in a lot of discussion after performing brilliantly in IPL 2021. Venkatesh Iyer has caught everyone’s attention while making a blast for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). Apart from stormy batting, Venkatesh Iyer also specializes in deadly bowling. Senior leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal and fast bowler Mohammad Siraj have returned to the team. Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel and Deepak Chahar, who were included in the reserve players of the T20 World Cup, have also been included in the team.

This player has been dropped from the team

Hardik, who did not give honest information about his fitness status, has been dropped from the team. The selection committee is understood to have been extremely disappointed with his fitness and he is the only player in the team to have actually been dropped and not rested like the rest. “Hardik Pandya is yet to recover from his back injury. Rituraj (635 runs), Harshal (32 wickets), Avesh (24 wickets) and Venkatesh (370 runs and three wickets) were unanimously selected after their stellar performances in the IPL. Fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar has probably got the last chance to prove himself. He is not even close to his best but has been retained due to his lack of experience in the fast bowling attack.

India’s T20 International squad is as follows:

Rohit Sharma (captain), Lokesh Rahul, Rituraj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel and Mohammad Siraj .


Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here