October 4, 2022
West Indies announce T20 World Cup squad, Evin Lewis returns

Cricket West Indies (CWI) on Wednesday announced the squad for the upcoming International Cricket Council (ICC) Men’s T20 World Cup, which will be held in October-November this year. The panel confirmed fifteen (15) players who will represent the West Indies for the eighth ICC T20 World Cup, to be played in Australia from 16 October to 13 November. West Indies is the only team to have won the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. Cup twice, in 2012 in Sri Lanka and 2016 in India. West Indies’ campaign to win an unprecedented third ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title will begin on October 17, when they play in the first of three Group B fixtures played in Scotland. To qualify for the Super 12 stage of the Bellerive Oval tournament in Hobart, Tasmania.

Nicholas Pooran leads the West Indies in his first World Cup as captain, with Rovman Powell as the vice-captain. Left-handed opener Evin Lewis has been recalled for the first time since the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup.

Two uncapped players have been selected; Right-arm leg-spinner all-rounder Yannick Karia and left-arm batting all-rounder Ramon Reifer.

CWI principal selector Dr Desmond Haynes said in a statement: “We have selected a mix of youth and experience to represent the West Indies. In the selection process, we are aware of the ongoing Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and We have been looking at players who are playing very well. I said at the beginning of my tenure that I would be interested in giving opportunities to players and I think I have been consistent in doing that. I believe It is a very good team that we have been selected, and it is a team that will compete, given that we have to qualify in the Super r12s from Round 1.

“There are players who didn’t make the team and I hope they continue to work hard and do their best in the CPL and the upcoming Super 50 Cup, because you never know what might happen in case of injuries or any other unforeseen circumstances. We may need to call in the players as replacements,” he added.

West Indies will face Zimbabwe on 19 October and then Ireland on 21 October, with the top two teams from Group B joining the Super 12, along with the top two teams from Group A which include Sri Lanka, the United Arab Emirates, the Netherlands and Namibia. Huh. , The top two teams from each Super 12 group will advance to the semi-finals on 9 and 10 November.


Ahead of the start of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, West Indies will take on home team Australia in a two-match bilateral T20 International (T20I) series at the Metricon Stadium in Gold Coast on 5 October and at the historic Gabba on 7 October. , in Brisbane.

T20 World Cup Squad: Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Rovman Powell, Yannick Caria, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akil Hossein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Kyle Meyers, Obed McCoy, Ramon Refer. Odeon Smith.

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.