When West Indies won the second thing T20 World Cup, 4 sixes of Carlos Brathwaite created a sensation


new Delhi: The West Indies is the only team in the world to have won the Men’s World Cup twice in ODI and T20 formats. Just 5 years before today, on 3 April 2016, the Caribbean team became the T20 World Champion for the second time under the leadership of Darren Sammy.

Final match in kolkata

After losing the toss at Eden Gardens in Kolkata, the England team came out to bat first and scored 155 runs after losing 9 wickets in the prescribed 20 overs. For the British, Joe Root played the highest innings of 54 runs. Apart from Root, no English batsman could put a fifty.

Also read- IPL 2021: Siraj and Chahal were talking, Dhanshree has come in between, many questions asked

Marlon Samuels showed his strength

The 156-run target for the West Indies seemed simple enough, but England got rid of the Caribbean team’s sweat. Joe Root took the first 2 wickets of the Windies for just 5 runs. After this, Marlon Samuels scored 85 runs in 66 balls and gave a little relief to the West Indies.

Carlos Braithwaite’s 6,6,6,6

West Indies needed 19 runs to win in the last over. England captain Eoin Morgan gave the ball to Ben Stokes with great confidence. It seemed that Stokes would be able to stop the Carabai team. But Carlos Braithwaite was in a different mood. He made 4 consecutive sixes off the first 4 balls of the over, making the Windies the champions of T20 cricket for the second time.

Sixth of Braithwaite reminded Dhoni

Nobody expected Carlos Brathwaite to bat so fast in the last over of the match, because his bat was silent throughout the World Cup. These sixes of Brathwaite became immortal just as MS Dhoni’s six in the final of the World Cup 2011 became memorable in the cricket world.

Stokes became the villain of England

Even though Ben Stokes has given England many great successes in his career, in this match he became the villain of his team. He failed to stop the thunderstorm of Carlos Brathwaite. With this, the English team missed a golden opportunity to win the T20 World Cup.


Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here