World Test Championship: Team India has a chance to break this shameful record of 17 years by defeating New Zealand


New Delhi: The Indian cricket team will face New Zealand in the final of the World Test Championship (WTC) on 18 June in Southampton. When Team India will enter the field, his poor record against the Kiwi team in ICC tournaments will definitely be remembered in his mind.

India defeated New Zealand for the last time in 2003

India last defeated New Zealand in ICC tournaments in the semi-finals of the 2003 World Cup. The Indian team led by Saurabh Ganguly defeated the Kiwi team by seven wickets. In that match, fast bowler Zaheer Khan took four and Harbhajan Singh took two wickets. Since that victory, India has not been able to beat New Zealand even once in ICC tournaments.

India’s poor record against New Zealand

New Zealand defeated India by 10 runs in the league match of the 2007 T20 World Cup. After this, he defeated India by 47 runs in the Super 10 match of the 2016 T20 World Cup.

The New Zealand team then defeated India by 18 runs in the semi-finals of the 2019 World Cup.

Two years later, the Indian team went to New Zealand to play a two-match Test series, which was part of the WTC. In that series, India lost the first Test by 10 wickets in Wellington and then by seven wickets in the second Test in Christchurch.

In such a situation, Virat Brigade has a chance to end the drought of victory in the ICC tournament against New Zealand by winning the World Test Championship title.

The fight will start from June 18

The World Test Championship final against New Zealand will be played in Southampton on June 18 while the series against England will start in Nottingham from August 4. The second Test will be played at Lord’s from 12 to 16 August, the third at Leeds from 25 to 29 August, the fourth at The Oval from 2 to 6 September and the fifth at Manchester from 10 to 14 September.

Indian team: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj , Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (if fit), Wriddhiman Saha (if fit).


Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here