August 13, 2022
Six tips to keep your Facebook clean, secure and private


Got hundreds of Facebook friends you hardly knew?

Now is a good time to do some digital cleaning while the year is still fresh. Review your security and privacy settings, and make sure that casual acquaintances you met many years ago still aren’t getting the most intimate details of your life. Get rid of games and apps that got hooked on your account years ago, but you no longer use.

Here are six cleaning tips:

1) Secure your account
You must have undoubtedly heard that you must have a strong password. This is especially important for email and social-networking accounts because most of your digital life revolves around them. Plus, many other services let you log on using your Facebook account, so if this gets compromised, your other accounts will do the same.

Since passwords are difficult to manage, it’s best not to trust them alone. Turn on what Facebook says Login Approvals. It’s in Account Settings Security, After you do this, you’re asked for confirmation — entering a special number sent to your phone — when you sign in with a new device.

Unless you frequently switch devices, this is something you set up once and forget. And nobody can log in with your password unless they have your phone and that special number.

2) Review your privacy settings
Facebook offers a series of quick privacy “shortcuts”. On desktops and laptops, look for the small padlock at the top-right corner of the browser. On Apple and Android devices, access the shortcut through the menu – three horizontal bars.

key is shortcut Who can see my stuff ? See if you are inadvertently spreading your thoughts to the entire Facebook community. You’ll probably want to limit sharing to a minimum Friend instead of this public, though you can further customize it to exclude certain individuals or groups — such as coworkers, acquaintances or grandparents. When sharing, remember that less is more.

While you’re at it, check it out Adding Events and Name Letters In your account settings from PC or Mobile. You can insist on approving posts in which people tag you. Note that this is limited to what appears on your personal timeline; If Mary tags you in a post, Mary’s friends will still see it regardless of your setting. This includes friends who may be similar to you.

If you’re on a desktop or laptop, Facebook has a Privacy Checkup tool to review your settings. Find that lock. This tool is coming soon on mobile.

3) Make enemies… or at least befriend someone
Purge friends with whom you are no longer in touch. If You Think “Unfriending” Is Too Mean, Combine Them Into One acquaintances either Restricted List instead. “Familiar” means they won’t appear in your News Feed as often, although they will still have full access to any posts you distribute to your friends. “Restricted” means they will only see posts that you have marked as public. Effective way to unfriend someone without leaving any clues you did.

You can also create custom lists like “Friends of College” or “Family.” It’s great to share with people who appreciate it, while not bothering everyone you know and putting yourself in danger of becoming “acquainted.” You can create lists on a traditional PC by hitting More Near Friend on the left side of your news feed. Individuals can be in multiple groups. Capabilities are limited on mobile devices, although changes you make on PC will be reflected on your phone or tablet.

4) Check out those apps
Maybe a few years ago someone invited you to play a game. You tried it a couple of weeks and moved on, yet the app is still getting access to your data. Or perhaps you used Facebook to log in to a service you no longer use, such as to track the 2014 Winter Olympics. It’s time to sign out. If you’re not sure if you’re still using it, leave it on anyway. You can sign in again at any time.

The Privacy Checkup tool on PC will automatically review the apps for you. On mobile devices, search Apps in account settings (no Apps in the main menu).

A related option is the Security Checkup tool. It’s an easy way to log out of Facebook on a device you rarely use. You can also enable alerts when someone tries to sign in with a new device or browser. To run it, go here http://facebook.com/securitycheckup on a PC. On the Android app, you can search security check in the help center. On iPhones and iPads, you’ll need to find different options in Account Settings below Security,

5) Control your data
You can exert some influence on the posts you see more or less frequently News Feed Preferences, The setting is in the top right on browsers and Android apps, and in the bottom right on iPhones. Here, you can select friends who will always appear on top, or hide someone’s posts altogether.

Lastly, if you’re concerned about data usage, you can stop videos from playing automatically in your News Feed. On Android, go here auto play In app settings, On iPhones, it’s in Account Settings Videos & Photos,

6) Plan ahead
The two settings can end in grief later in life… or death.

In the security settings, you can designate certain friends as trusted contacts. If for any reason your account gets locked, they will have the power to assist you. you a. can also nominate legacy contacts — A family member or close friend who will serve as your administrator should, um, update your last status to you (as, as always). They won’t be able to post on your behalf or see your messages, but they will be able to respond to new friend requests and take some additional actions on your deceased’s behalf.

,See alsoHow to Manage Your Facebook Privacy in 5 Easy Steps (with 5 Bonus Tips)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.