August 8, 2022
2030 World Cup: Argentina, Chile, Uruguay and Paraguay bid to be joint hosts
Argentina, Chile, Uruguay and Paraguay join forces to bid for 2030 World Cup
CONMEBOL and representatives from Argentina, Chile, Uruguay and Paraguay are joining forces to bid for the 2030 World Cup

Argentina, Chile, Uruguay and Paraguay have submitted a joint bid to host the 2030 World Cup.

Uruguay hosted the competition’s first tournament in 1930 and said they wanted to “bring home” the World Cup when it celebrates its centenary.

“It’s a continent’s dream,” said Alejandro Dominguez, president of the Confederation of South American Football (CONMEBOL).

Spain and Portugal has also announced Bid to be joint host.

Uruguay won the inaugural World Cup in 1930 by defeating Argentina in the final, and Dominguez was speaking at the scene of that victory – Montevideo’s Centenario Stadium.

“There will be more World Cups, but the Cup only gets to 100 once, and it needs to come home,” Dominguez said.

Chile hosted the World Cup in 1962, while the tournament was held in Argentina in 1978.

“It’s fitting to host the World Cup where it all began 100 years later,” said Uruguay Football Association president Ignacio Alonso.

The 2022 World Cup will be held in Qatar while Canada, Mexico and the USA will be the joint hosts in 2026.

FIFA plans to select 2030 hosts in 2024.

UK and Republic of Ireland football associations agreed in February not to bid For the 2030 World Cup and instead focus on a joint effort to host Euro 2028.

Everything you need to know about your Premier League team bannerbbc sport banner footer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.